Core Team 2020


Prof. Dr. Shyama V. Ramani co-founded SITE4Society in 2017, to bridge gaps between academics and society, via events and understandable publication briefs dealing with science, innovation, technology and engagement – for societal welfare. Shyama Ramani’s research focuses on the relationships between technology, innovation and their governance for inclusive development. Her work examines the role of technology and innovation in conjunction with actor (government, firms, citizens, public laboratories, NGOs etc.) engagements to attain the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) related to sanitation, sustainable cities and communities, education and climate change.



Dr. Türkeli is the co-founder of SITE4Society. Dr. Türkeli conducts policy research and development at the United Nations University – Maastricht Economic and Social Research Institute on Innovation and Technology (UNU-MERIT). He applies quantitative and/or qualitative methods to critical political economy and policy issues related to multi-scalar governance of science, technology and innovation (STI), STI policies and their governance.



Maria Tomai is a PhD Fellow at United Nations University (UNU-MERIT). Her research focuses on sustainability transitions in urban environments and the use of libertarian paternalism (nudge) strategies for behaviour change. She is particularly interested in how cities in developing countries could transit to a circular economy and what are the transition pathways that could bring the greatest environmental, economic and social benefits.



Anurag Kanaujia is trained as Biologist and he is now working in science policy and technology governance research. His research interests include Innovation studies, New and Emerging Science and Technology (NEST), GM crops, WASHE and Public Health. Anurag is also associated with Friend In Need India Trust, an NGO working to contribute towards Sustainable Development Challenges through teaching, training and action research.




Supporting Members
In alphabetical order


Alejandro Álvarez-Vanegas is a PhD fellow in the Governance and Policy Analysis Programme (GPAC2) at UNU-MERIT. He is currently working as full-time lecturer in the Process Engineering Department at Universidad EAFIT and coordinates the area of Environmental Culture in this institution. His main activities include teaching (Sustainable Development and Industrial Ecology); the organisation of events, workshops and projects to raise awareness and advocating for Sustainable Development and the achievement of the SDGs; and advising in the Sustainability and Environmental Committees of EAFIT.


Prof. René Kemp is Professorial fellow at UNU-MERIT and Professor of Innovation and Maastricht Sustainability Institute. René Kemp is well-known for his work on eco-innovation, environmental policy, strategic niche management and transition management – on which he authored numerous articles and books. His research interests are environmental policy and technical change, technological transitions, innovation policy, evolutionary theories of technical change and reflexive governance.


Dr. Sanae Okamoto is a behavioural scientist and is currently working for multiple international projects together with researchers at Site4Society. She brings her expertise in behavioural science interventions to this workgroup, to study transitions to circular economy with focus on inclusive social innovation, and social entrepreneurship (Nudging for SDGs) . She has vast academic and industrial experience in applying behavioural sciences to better understand human behaviour and nudge it towards diverse objectives such as sustainability, organizational change, and stakeholder engagement.


Diego Salama joined UNU-MERIT in May 2013 as Research Assistant to the Education Director, and since 2015 he works as a Communications Officer. He supports the management of the Communications Office, with responsibilities encompassing strategy, programme and project management, liaising with UN System and institutional governance and reporting. Diego is also a PhD candidate in History of International Relations at Leiden University where he is a member of the UN Studies in Peace and Justice research programme.



Interns 2020-2021














Interns 2019-2020








Interns 2018- 2019

Katerina Antoniadi (Greece) / [September 2018 – September 2019]
Bernadette Boellhoff (Germany) / [September 2018 – January 2019]
Florieke Bogaarts (Netherlands) / [September – October 2018]
Antara Chakrabarty (India) / [September – November 2018]