A Multi-stakeholder Forum on ”Transitions towards a Circular Economy: A Cross-National Study of Urban Solid Waste Management’’

On 17th of October 2019, SITE4Society, in collaboration with the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN) and the Institute for Environment and Sanitation Studies (IESS), University of Ghana, hosted an interactive multi-stakeholder forum on co-designed innovative solutions for inclusive and sustainable urban environments through efficient Municipal Solid Waste Management (MSWM), in Accra, Ghana.

The forum brought together experienced researchers, young scholars, academics, policymakers, private sector, NGOs and civil society groups from Africa and Europe to discuss and share ideas, research findings and innovative models on key aspects of waste management for sustainable development and value creation from waste.

More write-ups with the main outputs of the presentations and panel discussions will be published here soon.

Find the full programme here.

Details of speakers

Name Affiliation E-mail Presentation on
Shyama V. Ramani United Nations University-MERIT ramani@merit.unu.edu Moderator
Tom Curran University College Dublin tom.curran@ucd.ie Innovative Products, Trading and Education for Implementing the Circular Economy in the Agri-Food Sector
Maria Tomai United Nations University-MERIT tomai@merit.unu.edu ‘‘Circular Economy as a Tool for Urban Sustainability Transitions’’ (To be published)
Hiroshan Hettiarachchi United Nations University-FLORES hettiarachchi@unu.edu Shaping-up Waste Management Policy in Support of Circular Economy: Examples (To be published on November 19)
Nick Holden University College Dublin nick.holden@ucd.ie Prevention is better than cure in the fight against food waste
Kelly Redeker University of York kelly.redeker@york.ac.uk From volatile metabolites to addressing waste in informal settlements
Markus Spitzbart GIZ Ghana markus.spitzbart@giz.de Supporting Ghana in Introducing Sustainable E-Waste Management
Panel 1 – The SMW system in Ghana, Uganda and South Africa: challenges, opportunities and ways forward
Ashabrick Nantege Bumutaze Ministry of Water and Environment Uganda ashabrn@yahoo.co.uk  

 

Bertha Darteh EAP Consult Ltd berthadarteh@gmail.com
Blake Robinson ICLEI Africa blake.robinson@iclei.org
Dzidzo Yirenya-Tawiah University of Ghana dzidzoy@staff.ug.edu.gh
Panel 2 – Circular economy practices and sustainable social entrepreneurship
Elvis Aboluah Trashy Bags elvis@trashybags.org  

 

Makafui Awuku Mckingtorch Creatives awukumakafui@gmail.com
Cordie Aziz Environment360 can@environment360gh.org
Joanna Bingham Footprints Africa joanna@footprintsafrica.co

 

For more information, please contact us at site4society@merit.unu.edu and follow us on Facebook for more updates!

Partner Universities
Maastricht University (UNU-MERIT)
University College Dublin
University of Ghana
University of York
UNU-FLORES